AGO Recognizes Two Award Winning Composers

Distinguished Composer Award Presented to Libby Larsen
AGO/ECS Publishing Award in Choral Composition Presented to Ivan Božičević

The American Guild of Organists (AGO) honored two award winning composers at its Annual Meeting on Tuesday, June 24, during the AGO National Convention in Boston, Mass. AGO President Eileen Guenther presided over the award presentations to Libby Larsen of Minneapolis, MN; and to Ivan Božičević of Croatia.

The 2014 Distinguished Composer Award was presented to Libby Larsen ( The prestigious award, created in 1986, is presented biennially to recognize outstanding composers of organ and choral music in the United States. Previous award recipients include: Virgil Thomson, Ned Rorem, Daniel Pinkham, Samuel Adler, Dominick Argento, William Albright, Conrad Susa, Emma Lou Diemer, Dan Locklair, William Bolcom, Alice Parker, Carl Schalk, Margaret Sandresky, Richard Proulx, David Hurd, Stephen Paulus, and Craig Phillips.

The 2014 AGO/ECS Publishing Award in Choral Composition was presented to Ivan Božičević ( for his winning composition, Kyrie eleison. The award included a cash prize of $2,000 and publication, both provided by the ECS Publishing Co., and a performance at the 2014 AGO National Convention in Boston. Thirty-five composers submitted pieces to the fourteenth biennial competition. The competition was judged by Carol Barnett, David Carrier, and Steven Sametz. Mr. Božičević is the first Croatian citizen ever to receive the award.