Archives for July 2014

AGO Bestows Highest and Most Prestigous Awards at National Convention

The American Guild of Organists bestowed its two highest awards of national distinction in conjunction with the 52nd biennial AGO National Convention in Boston, Mass. Award presentations were made by AGO President Eileen Guenther during the AGO Annual Meeting. The AGO President’s Award was presented to Christoph Wolff of Belmont, Mass. The prestigious award, created in 1988, is presented biennially to recognize outstanding contributions to the art of the organ in the United States. The 2014 President’s Award recognized Mr. Wolff “in gratitude for his exhaustive musicological research, extensive publications, and lifelong commitment to the music of Johann Sebastian Bach.” Past recipients of the AGO President’s Award include: Clementine … [Read more...]

John C. Walker Elected President of the American Guild of Organists

The American Guild of Organists (AGO), the world’s largest professional association of organists and choral conductors, as well as the largest organization on the globe dedicated to a single musical instrument, has elected John C. Walker as its president. The membership of the AGO includes approximately 17,000 organists, choral conductors, music educators, organbuilders, clergy, and aficionados. In speaking of his election, President Walker remarked: “As a lifelong member of the AGO, it is both a thrill and a humbling responsibility to be chosen by my peers to lead this great organization. As the 31st President in the 118 year history of the Guild, I am honored to walk in the steps of illustrious predecessors. During this era of … [Read more...]

AGO Names Prizewinners in National Organ Competitions

The American Guild of Organists (AGO) is pleased to announce the results of its National Young Artists Competition in Organ Performance (NYACOP) and the National Competition in Organ Improvisation (NCOI). Competition prizewinners were recognized at the 52nd biennial AGO National Convention in Boston, Mass. The following competition prizes were awarded: NATIONAL YOUNG ARTISTS COMPETITION IN ORGAN PERFORMANCE First Prize—Jonathan Rudy The Lilian Murtagh Memorial Prize: $3,000 cash award and career development assistance provided by Karen McFarlane Artists; a CD recording by Pro Organo; and a performance at the 2016 AGO National Convention in Houston, TX. Second Prize—HyeHyun Sung $3,000 cash award provided by John-Paul Buzard Pipe … [Read more...]

AGO Recognizes Two Award Winning Composers

Distinguished Composer Award Presented to Libby Larsen AGO/ECS Publishing Award in Choral Composition Presented to Ivan Božičević The American Guild of Organists (AGO) honored two award winning composers at its Annual Meeting on Tuesday, June 24, during the AGO National Convention in Boston, Mass. AGO President Eileen Guenther presided over the award presentations to Libby Larsen of Minneapolis, MN; and to Ivan Božičević of Croatia. The 2014 Distinguished Composer Award was presented to Libby Larsen ( The prestigious award, created in 1986, is presented biennially to recognize outstanding composers of organ and choral music in the United States. Previous award recipients include: Virgil Thomson, Ned Rorem, Daniel … [Read more...]

AGO Elects 2014–2016 National Council and Regional Councillors

NEW YORK CITY—The AMERICAN GUILD OF ORGANISTS (AGO) announces a newly elected National Council for a term of two years, July 1, 2014–June 30, 2016. Election results were reported on Tuesday, June 24, during the AGO Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with the AGO National Convention in Boston, Mass. Members of the newly elected National Council include four national officers and three national councillors with portfolio. In addition, in accordance with AGO Bylaws, AGO Past President Eileen Guenther will remain on the Council as a non-voting member for a period of one year. The non-voting AGO Executive Director serves as an ex officio member of Council. PRESIDENT John Walker, FAGO, DMA, Baltimore, Md. VICE PRESIDENT / COUNCILLOR FOR … [Read more...]